License Suspension After a Connecticut DUI

A driver holding alcoholic bottle while driving / Drunk driving concept

In Connecticut, it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of .08% or higher or while you are under the influence of drugs or alcohol. If you are charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI), you face serious penalties, including up to six months in jail, a fine of up to $1,000, and mandatory installation of an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) for a first-time conviction. You also face mandatory suspension of your driver’s license.

Do You Lose Your License After a DUI Charge?

When you are charged with a Connecticut DUI, a copy of the arrest report is sent to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Once the DMV receives notice of your arrest for a DUI charge, they will initiate a driver’s license suspension. The length of your DUI license suspension will vary based on the circumstances of your offense, especially whether you caused an accident that resulted in physical injury or the death of another person.

For most DUI charges, the DUI license suspensions are as follows:

  • First-time DUI: 45-day license suspension; mandatory installation of an IID
  • Second DUI: 45-day license suspension; mandatory installation of an IID
  • Third DUI: lifetime license suspension

These suspensions are imposed for failing the blood, breath, or urine test, or for refusing to take the test. In most cases, the driver’s license suspension goes into effect 30 days after the date you were arrested and is independent of any additional penalties imposed by the court.

Once the DMV receives notice that you failed or refused the test, they will send you a notice of your driver’s license suspension. If you wish to challenge the license suspension, you must request a hearing before the deadline stated on your notice of suspension.

If you request a hearing, your case will be heard by a Hearing Officer appointed by the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles. The Hearing Officer is authorized to evaluate the following:

  1. Did the police officer have probable cause to arrest you?
  2. Were you actually arrested by the police officer?
  3. Were you operating the motor vehicle?
  4. Did you refuse to take the blood, breath, or urine test, or was the test commenced within two hours of operating the motor vehicle, and did the test results show an elevated BAC?

While these questions may seem straightforward, there are many technical aspects that a skilled DUI defense attorney can address and which could be used to preserve your driving privileges.

Driver’s License Suspension After a Court Conviction for DUI

In addition to the administrative DUI license suspension through the DMV, you also face a driver’s license suspension through the court. If you are convicted of DUI, the court will suspend your license and notify the DMV, which will impose the driver’s license suspension.

The court will impose the following mandatory driver’s license suspension:

  • First DUI: 1-year driver’s license suspension
  • Second DUI: 1-year license suspension
  • Third or subsequent DUI: permanent revocation of your driver’s license. You must wait at least two years from the date of conviction to request a hearing for reconsideration.

Requesting School or Work Privileges After a DUI License Suspension

After a first-time DUI, you can request a school or work permit through the DMV. You must submit a non-refundable $100 application fee and agree to comply with strict requirements for a school or work permit.

For work privileges, you must provide the signature of your employer, your occupation, your work schedule, and the distance of your commute.

If you are requesting school privileges, you must provide a signature from your school registrar or their designee, a copy of your class schedule, and the distance of your commute.

You are only eligible for driving privileges after a first-time DUI, and you cannot have been convicted of crimes such as reckless driving, vehicular assault, or vehicular manslaughter.

How a Connecticut DUI Defense Attorney Can Help

If you have been charged with a Connecticut DUI, you should contact experienced DUI defense attorney Stephen Lebedevitch as quickly as possible. Attorney Lebedevitch can help you challenge the Administrative License Suspension, assist you in applying for work or school privileges, and defend you against the DUI charge.

Connecticut DUI law is surprisingly complex. Attorney Lebedevitch will investigate the specific circumstances of your arrest, identify legal strategies to challenge the DUI license suspension and the DUI charge, explain your options, and protect your rights in court.

To learn more, contact The Lebedevitch Law Firm today to schedule a confidential consultation to discuss your situation and how we can help.

The Lebedevitch Law Firm is based in Fairfield, Connecticut, and proudly represents people in Stamford, Greenwich, New Canaan, Norwalk, Darien, Rowayton, Fairfield, Trumbull, Westport, Wilton, Weston, Danbury, New Haven, Bethany, Woodbridge, Milford, Stratford, Bridgeport.

Categories: DUI