Leaving the scene of an accident is often a split-second decision made in the heat of an intense moment. Still, that decision to drive away from a car crash can create serious consequences of its own. If you are later found and charged with evading responsibility, you could face jail or prison time, probation, steep fines, and the suspension of your driver’s license. If you have been charged with evading responsibility in Fairfield or New Haven County, Connecticut, it is imperative to contact an experienced hit and run lawyer.
Hit and Run in Connecticut
Every year, there are more than 1,000 hit and run deaths nationwide. Here in Connecticut, a hit and run accident can range from a fender-bender in a parking lot to a high-speed highway collision. Connecticut law requires each person involved in a car accident to stay on the scene until the police arrive. If you don’t, you may be charged with the crime “evading responsibility” in addition to any traffic violations, reckless driving, assault in the second degree with a motor vehicle, or even vehicular homicide charges that may apply to the crash.
Leaving the scene of an accident won’t protect you from those other criminal charges. The more serious an auto accident, the more invested the police will be in finding the hit-and-run driver. Instead, it could increase the consequences of the crash, in criminal court and in your life after the conviction.
CT Evading Responsibility Charges and Penalties
Leaving the scene of an accident can carry serious criminal consequences, and put your driver’s license at risk. Evading responsibility can be charged as either a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the circumstances of the accident, and the injuries suffered:
- Misdemeanor evading responsibility applies if the accident involved only damage to property or minor injuries to another, such as bruises or whiplash. The penalty for misdemeanor evading responsibility is up to one year in jail (for a first offense) and a fine $75 to $600 dollars.
- Felony evading responsibility applies to any serious motor vehicle accident resulting in injuries such as broken bones, as well as fatal car crashes. The penalty for felony evading responsibility is up to 20 years in prison and fines of up to $20,000 dollars.
What Happens if You Are Convicted of Hit and Run Charges
The consequences of an evading responsibility conviction go far beyond the criminal sentence. After an evading responsibility conviction, the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will suspend your driver’s license for 90 days to 2 years. In addition, that same conviction may cause your insurance premium to increase, or your policy may even be canceled.
In addition, You could face a potential personal injury claim, further complicating your matter. After an auto accident, injured motorists and passengers often sue the at-fault driver for compensation for their injuries. However, they must prove you were at fault for the crash. If you left the scene after the accident, that conviction can be used to prove fault, leading to an expensive verdict in civil court.
How a Hit and Run Lawyer Can Help
Hit and run charges may be serious, but a charge doesn’t assure a conviction. At The Lebedevitch Law Firm, we have years of experience representing drivers facing evading responsibility charges. Our ultimate goal is to have the charges dismissed against you as quickly as possible. We will gather all the evidence and present a clear picture of what happened during and after the accident. Then we will zealously advocate on your behalf to ensure the best possible outcome.
Contact The Lebedevitch Law Firm, LLC For a Free Consultation
Based in Fairfield, Connecticut, our hit and run lawyer team handles evading responsibility cases throughout Fairfield and New Haven counties. Contact The Lebedevitch Law Firm today to schedule your free consultation.